Seminars

[Note: when a paper is available, we link to a PDF copy of the paper in the title, but we sometimes set it up so the links only work for those accessing the Internet from a Williams College IP address or VPN, in case the author is not ready to circulate the paper more widely yet.]

 

Fall 2016

Friday, September 16, 12:00pm-1:00pm. CDE dining room. Kate Ambler, International Food Policy Research Institute, CDE Development Dialogue, “Economics of the Family in Developing Countries.” [Note: for Development Dialogues only, reservations are required due to limited seating and provision of lunch.  RSVPs to RLouis@williams.edu are required by Thursday, September 15 at 11:00am.]

Friday, September 16, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6. Kate Ambler, International Food Policy Research Institute, CDE Seminar, “Cash Transfers and Crop Production in Senegal.”

Tuesday, September 27, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6. Heidi Williams, MIT, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, How Do Patents Affect Follow-on Innovation? Evidence from the Human Genome (co-written with Bhaven Sampat, Columbia University).

Friday, September 30, 12:10pm-1:00pm. CDE dining room. Rob Jensen, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, CDE Development Dialogue, “Is Image Everything? Peer Social Concerns and Economic Development.”  [Note: for Development Dialogues only, reservations are required due to limited seating and provision of lunch. RSVPs to RLouis@williams.edu are required by Thursday, September 29 at 11:00am.]

Friday, September 30, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6. Rob Jensen, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, CDE Seminar, “Information, Demand and the Growth of Firms.”

Wednesday, October 5, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6. Will Olney, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, October 12, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Steven Nafziger, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, October 18, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Bruce Sacerdote, Dartmouth, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Why Do College Going Interventions Work?

Wednesday, October 26, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Quamrul Ashraf, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Friday, October 28, Time TBA. Location TBA. Andy Powell, Inter-American Development Bank. CDE Development Dialogue or Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, November 1, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Rachel Kranton, Duke, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Groupy and Non-Groupy Behavior: Deconstructing Bias in Social Preferences.

Monday, November 7, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Location TBA. Asim Khwaja, Harvard Kennedy School of Government, CDE Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, November 9, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Susan Godlonton, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, November 15, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Ethan Lewis, Dartmouth, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, November 29, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Christopher Hanes, Binghamton University, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, December 7, 4:00pm-5:30pm. Griffin 6.  Angela de Oliveira, UMass Amherst, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Spring 2017

Thursday, April 13-Friday, April 14, Times and locations TBA. CDE Conference, Speakers and titles TBA.

 

Prior year seminars