Seminars

[Note: when a paper is available, we link to a PDF copy of the paper in the title, but we sometimes set it up so the links only work for those accessing the Internet from a Williams College IP address or VPN, in case the author is not ready to circulate the paper more widely yet.]

Fall 2018

Wednesday, September 19, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Greg Phelan, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Cournot Fire Sales.

Thursday, September 27, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  David McKenzie, World Bank, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar / CDE Seminar, Improving Management with Individual and Group-Based Consulting: Results from a Randomized Experiment in Colombia.

Tuesday, October 2, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Elizabeth Cascio, Dartmouth, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, October 3, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Lara Shore-Sheppard and Tara Watson, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, October 11, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Seth Neumuller, Wellesley, Economics Department Seminar, “Can Income Differences Explain the Racial Wealth Gap? A Quantitative Analysis”.

Thursday, October 18, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Ebonya Washington, Yale, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, October 24, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Greg Casey, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, October 30, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Walker Hanlon, NYU Stern, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, November 1, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Location TBD.  Branko Milanovic, CUNY, CDE Seminar, “Recent trends in global income distribution and their political consequences.”  (He will also include a few themes from his forthcoming book Capitalism, alone.)

Wednesday, November 7, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Melinda Petre, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, November 8, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Boris Gershman, American University, Economics Department Seminar, Witchcraft Beliefs as a Cultural Legacy of the Atlantic Slave Trade: Evidence from Two Continents.

Tuesday, November 13, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Tim Vogelsang, Michigan State, joint Economics / Statistics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, November 27, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Molly Hawkins ’08, U Michigan, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, November 29, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Thomas Eisenbach, NY Fed, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Spring 2019

 

Tuesday, February 19, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Owen Zidar, Princeton, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, February 20, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Sarah Jacobson, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, February 28, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Martina Jasova, Barnard College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, March 5, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Pinar Keskin, Wellesley, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, March 7, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Jennifer Hunt, Rutgers, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, April 4-Friday, April 5, CDE Conference, Details TBA.

Thursday, April 11, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Mary Evans, Claremont McKenna, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, April 23, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Lee Badgett, UMass Amherst, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, April 25, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 241.  Richard Klotz, Colgate, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, May 1, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Owen Thompson, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

 

Prior year seminars