Seminars

[Note: when a paper is available, we link to a PDF copy of the paper in the title, but we sometimes set it up so the links only work for those accessing the Internet from a Williams College IP address or VPN, in case the author is not ready to circulate the paper more widely yet.]

Spring 2024

Tuesday, February 13, 4:30pm-5:45pm.  Griffin 3.  Jeffrey Fuhrer, Brookings / Eastern Bank Foundation, Lecture related to his book The Myth That Made Us.

Thursday, February 22, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Schapiro 129.  Anders Jensen, Harvard Kennedy School, joint CDE/Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Technology and Tax Capacity: Evidence from Local Governments in Ghana.

Tuesday, February 27, 4:30pm-5:45pm.  Griffin 6.  Gabriel Chodorow-Reich, Harvard, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Tax Policy and Investment in a Global Economy.

Wednesday, February 28, 4:00pm-5:00pm.  Griffin 6.  Shyam Raman, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Risk, uncertainty, and patient protections: A classroom simulation on the development of U.S. health insurance markets.

Wednesday, March 6, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Will Olney, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Offshoring and the Decline of Unions.

Thursday, April 4, 4:30pm-5:45pm.  Griffin 6.  Jamein Cunningham, The University of Texas at Austin, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, The Impact of Affirmative Action Litigation on Police Killings of Civilians.

Monday, April 8, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Daniela Vidart, UConn, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Revisiting the Link Between Electrification and Fertility: Evidence from the Early 20th Century United States.

Thursday, April 11-Friday, April 12, CDE Conference on Health and Development: Macro and Micro Perspectives

Tuesday, April 16, 4:30pm-5:45pm.  Griffin 6.  Stefanie Stantcheva, Harvard, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Zero-Sum Thinking and the Roots of U.S. Political Divides.

Monday, April 22, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Maggie R. Jones, U.S. Census Bureau, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Friday, April 26, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Raquel Fernandez, NYU, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Saturday, April 27, Promoting Inclusion in Economic Research (PIER) 2024 Conference

Tuesday, April 30, 4:30pm-5:45pm.  Griffin 6.  Jeffery Zhang, Michigan, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, May 1, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Burak Uras, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, “Firms and Unions.”

Fall 2023

Thursday, September 21, 4:15pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Elizabeth Ananat (POEC ’99), Barnard College, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Effects of the Expanded Child Tax Credit on Employment Outcomes: Evidence from Real-World Data.

Wednesday, September 27, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Caitlin Hegarty, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, External Crises and Investment Adjustments: A Heterogeneous-Firm Perspective. 

Thursday, September 28, 4:30pm-6:00pm.  Griffin 6.  Nathaniel Burke, West Virginia University, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Inference from Biased Polls.

Monday, October 2, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Paul Willen ’90, Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, Seminar, House Prices and Rents in the 21st Century (joint with Lara Loewenstein of the Cleveland Fed).

Wednesday, October 4, 4:15pm-6:00pm.  Schapiro 129. Michael Howard, Professor Emeritus of Philosophy at University of Maine, Lecture, Basic Income, Global Climate Justice, and the Future of Work.

Thursday, October 12, 5:15pm-6:45pm.  Griffin 3.  Trevon Logan, Ohio State University, Seminar, The Sins of Economic History.

Tuesday, October 17, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  Griffin 6.  Apoorv Gupta, Dartmouth, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars / CDE Seminar, The Impact of Relaxing Liquidity Constraints on Small Firm Performance: Evidence from South Africa.

Wednesday, October 25, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Kenneth Kuttner, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Monetary Policy Shocks: What Were They Thinking?

Thursday, October 26, 4:30pm-6:00pm.  Griffin 6.  Mackenzie Alston, University of Illinois, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Does Black and Blue Matter? An Experimental Investigation of Race, Perceptions of Police, and Legal Compliance.

Thursday, November 9, 4:30pm-6:00pm.  Griffin 6.  Erin Wolcott, Middlebury College, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Did Racist Labor Policies Reverse Equality Gains for Everyone?

Monday, November 13, 4:00pm-5:30pm.  CDE Rm 211.  Eric Parrado, Inter-American Development Bank, CDE Seminar, Managing Natural Resources Revenues.

Wednesday, November 15, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Matthew Chao, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Culture-Specific Social Hierarchies as Focal Points for Coordination and Cooperation.

Thursday, November 30, 4:30pm-6:00pm.  Griffin 7.   Michael Navarrete ’16, University of Maryland PhD program, Economics Department Seminar, COBOLing Together UI Benefits: How Delays in Fiscal Stabilizers Affect Aggregate Consumption.

Prior year seminars