Seminars

[Note: when a paper is available, we link to a PDF copy of the paper in the title, but we sometimes set it up so the links only work for those accessing the Internet from a Williams College IP address or VPN, in case the author is not ready to circulate the paper more widely yet.]

Fall 2022

(Please note that masks are required to attend these seminars.)

Thursday, September 15, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Teresa Molina, University of Hawaii at Manoa, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Child Health, Parental Well-Being, and the Social Safety Net.

Tuesday, September 20, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Billur Aksoy, RPI, Economics Department Seminar, Understanding Labor Market Discrimination Against Transgender People: Evidence from a Double List Experiment and a Survey.

Thursday, September 29, 7:30pm-8:45pm.  Griffin 6.  Josh Tucker, NYU, joint Economics/Political Science/Political Economy Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, “Social Media and Democracy (and Using Social Media Data to Study Politics)”.

Tuesday, October 4, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Anthony Fowler, University of Chicago, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Extreme Leaders, Partisan Constituents, and Congressional Polarization.

Thursday, October 6, 4:15pm-5:30pm.  CDE Rm 211.  Phil Gerson, IMF, CDE Seminar, Fiscal Rules and COVID – Preliminary Evidence.

Thursday, October 13, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Daniel Hamermesh, UT Austin, Economics Department Seminar, Aging in Style: Does How We Write Matter?

Thursday, October 27, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Nick Pretnar, UCSB, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, November 2, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Felix Owusu ’11, Harvard, Economics Department Seminar, Presumptive Declination and Diversion in Suffolk County, MA.

Thursday, November 3, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Quentin Wodon, World Bank, joint CDE and Economics Department Seminar, Investing in Human Development in sub-Saharan Africa: Challenges and Opportunities.

Wednesday, November 9, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Steven Nafziger, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, November 10, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Sailafou Issofou, IMF, CDE Seminar, “The roles of the IMF in fragile and conflict-affected countries”.

Tuesday, November 15, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Garrett Anstreicher ‘15, University of Wisconsin-Madison PhD program, Economics Department Seminar, Spatial Influences in Upward Mobility.

Thursday, November 17, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Mark Aguiar, Princeton, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Wednesday, November 30, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Katie Gutierrez, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, December 1, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Erica Moszkowski ‘15, Harvard PhD program, Economics Department Seminar, Option Value and Storefront Vacancies in New York City.

Tuesday, December 6, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Schapiro 129.  Andrew Hessler, Williams College, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, December 8, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Griffin 6.  Michael Norton ‘97, Harvard, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Wanting, Voting, and Paying for Greater Equality.

Spring 2023

Tuesday, March 7, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Location TBD.  Pascual Restrepo, Boston University, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, March 14, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Location TBD.  Jenny Aker, Tufts, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, April 4, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Location TBD.  Vicki Bogan, Cornell Dyson, Economics Class of 1960 Scholars Seminar, Title TBA.

Tuesday, April 18, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Location TBD.  Uwe Sunde, Ludwig Maxmillian Univ of Munich, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

Thursday, April 27, 4:00pm-5:15pm.  Location TBD.  Carycruz Bueno, Wesleyan, Economics Department Seminar, Title TBA.

 

Prior year seminars